Short Term Goal

I have now officially lost 10kg since the arrival of the boy; which is 1 stone 8lbs in proper English.  I actually weigh a lot less than before I was pregnant, although as I have stated before, my body shape is a heck of a lot different. It’s probably age as well but there are still some clothes that I cannot comfortably fit into again.

It is heartening to see how far I have come, not only in terms of weight loss but also in adjusting to my new life. I actually quite like it now. So I no longer have an interesting job title and more free records than I could possibly listen to, (seriously, I am still trying to get through the last of the CDs I received before my maternity leave ended and the best mate has more promos for me of some the more recent releases). But big whup – this week I taught my son to pull a range of funny looking faces and monster noises. Nothing has greater job satisfaction than that.

I almost dropped him and the pram down the stairs this afternoon because he made me burst out into laughter making straining, grunting noises as I pulled the pram up to the front door. I am pretty sure I don’t make straining grunts as I hike the pram up the stairs but I could be wrong, it often feels like I am giving myself a hernia.

Slight digression aside, I now have a short term exercise goal: to run down to Finsbury Park and back without stopping for a walk. It’s around 6km there and back. I can currently manage 4km, or as I am measuring it, to the end of Rancid’s cover of The Kids Are United on my play list. On Friday, I hope to make it to the end of Dolly Parton meaning that next week an addition of Bowie should take me the full 6km. The novelty of listening to music on my ipod is probably what is carrying me so far in the first place. I am not a good runner, get a mouth full of midgies each evening and feel like my asthmatic lungs will explode at any minute or my flat feet won’t carry me back home.

Once I have acheived this goal, I will sign up for a 10k race. If I can run up these hills around here, I think I can manage a nice, flat park somewhere. Plus those races always have lovely little goodie bags at the end. I still don’t know how I managed a 10k a few years ago, I barely even trained running a few laps of ‘Scary in the Dark Park’ over in Tottenham.

On a side note, today’s cheer has been brought about by the boy dancing to music. His new favourite song is Jilted John by Jilted John. My mini punk rocker…

Leave a Reply

